Count Your Blessings and Not Your Sorrows

Today has been one of those days, that has made me look at my choices of why I am doing what I am doing and just ask, “why?” Lately, I find myself asking this question more and more and today that still quiet voice reminded me ,”Count your blessings and not your sorrows.”

Finding the blessings in each day has been almost a game. I count anything really, it doesn’t have to be over the top, spectacular, or even profound – just something that made me smile or made someone else smile.

So the blessings for today are:

1) I’m still breathing. Given another day to help out my family and love them with all that I am.

2) The sun. I get to take my children to school around the time of Sunrise and get to marvel at all the beauty it contains. Then when I’m on my way to work, I get to marvel at the sunset. God truly is an artist with a paintbrush in the sky, painting a masterpiece each day.

3) I get hugs and kisses from my children. I treasure these as I know someday too soon these will fade but for now I am enjoying the extra hugs and little butterfly kisses on my check when my children want to give them.

4) I get some pretty great hugs and kisses from my sweety. Having a partner in this life that I can trust and know that he has my back is priceless. The kids will grow and live their own lives but, if God willing, we get to grow old together than this man will be with me. That is pretty special.

5) My cat licks my toes when I come home. I know this one is weird and I must admit I’ve never had a cat lick my toes or feet like this one does. I believe the poor thing is slightly confused as what a cat is suppose to be but I find the act still enduring and he gets extra loves from me.

6) We have Oreo cookies and milk. Sometimes the best things are simple and this combination always made me smile when I was a kid. I would always eat the filling out first and then save the cookie to dunk in the milk last. The purist out there I’m sure will tell me I do it incorrectly but boy oh boy do these taste good.

7) Today I saw a cardinal a brilliant red one and his female companion. Looks like Spring is in the air and the birds are getting ready for new families. I love hearing the birds and seeing the many varieties out there. Such winged beauty is all around us and I live in a place where I can see so many.

8) I was able to cook dinner and sit with my family before I had to rush off to work. Granted it was a very simple meal and my youngest helped make it. He was so proud to say, “I made dinner and I love it.” He’s going to be 7 soon and wants to do more big boy chores. So he helped make mac-n-cheese while I cooked burger. He picked out the vegetable, carrots his favorite, and put them in the microwave to warm up. I am a proud Mama and am glad he’s growing into such a wonderful young man.

9) There was a song in my heart tonight, You Are An Overcomer, by a Christian artist I listen to on Air One. This helped me tonight cleaning up the nasty things I find and helped me get finished.

10) I have some quiet time. While I miss my family during the hectic evening hours when everyone is getting themselves ready for bed and my husband who loves to watch his programs and talk about different parts of his day, I must admit that this quiet I get when I get home is wonderful. I can think of all the different things that need to get done without interruption.

So these are my blessings and listing them out has made me almost forget the sorrows. I hope that who ever you are that you have your own list that you can make and you too can feel blessed instead of sorrow.

One thought on “Count Your Blessings and Not Your Sorrows

Leave a comment